Thursday, February 15, 2018

Mahmudullah named Bangladesh skipper for first T20I against Sri Lanka

Mahmudullah Riyad
Mahmudullah Riyad

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has confirmed that Mahmudullah Riyad will lead the side for the first Twenty20 international (T20I) of the two-match series against Sri Lanka, starting February 15. He will stand in for regular skipper Shakib Al Hasan, who has been ruled out of the first match because of a finger injury which he sustained during the ODI tri-series final against Sri Lanka in January.

Meanwhile, uncapped left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam Apu has been called into the squad as a replacement of Shakib. Mahmudullah had earlier captained Bangladesh in the Test series in Shakib's absence.

Squad: Mahmudullah (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Hider, Abu Jayed, Ariful Hoque, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain and Nazmul Ismail.

Catch up on all the latest sports news and updates here

Download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get updates on all the latest and trending stories on the go

Share with short URL:


Popular Posts